The Gould House was initially constructed in the style of an Italian villa. It was remodeled in 1873 to add a mansard roof, ornate front and side entrances, and its creamy yellow brick, unique among Owosso homes.
Amos Gould came to Owosso, as did several other members of his family, from New York State. Gould would hold many distinguished public offices over the years, including county prosecuting attorney, probate judge, and state senator. When Owosso was incorporated in 1859, Gould became the new city’s first mayor. He organized Owosso’s first bank in 1865, operating at first out of this house. He was among the founders of the First Congregation Church, located on Washington Street two blocks south of his home. Gould held much real estate in Owosso and elsewhere in Michigan, including Gould City, in the Upper Peninsula, where he was heavily invested in the local lumber industry, and which bears his name.
Mary Lena, the last member of the Gould family to live in the house, had the upstairs converted into two rental apartments in 1938. The Owosso Historical Commission, representing the City of Owosso, purchased the house from Mrs. Harry Atkinson in 1979. Rental income from the upstairs apartments continues to serve as a source of ongoing, partial support for maintenance of the building.
Many local organizations and businesses have assisted the city and the commission in preserving this outstanding local landmark.